My World’s on Fire, How ‘Bout Yours?

So apparently that heat wave finally got here. It’s a bit toasty here, to say the least. Besides that, my computer is on the fritz and won’t play videos on Firefox. Anyone have suggestions? Well, I guess I’ll have to take it in when I get back home.

Mary and I went to a Karagiozis performance last night, which is shadow puppetry. Ever see the newest Karate Kid? It’s sorta like the scene where Dre kisses that Chinese girl, though with a Greek twist. Here’s a bit of information on what it was we saw:

Link: Karagiozis

It was a lovely little place with lots of children, and though we didn’t really know what was going on, we could gather the gist of it through gestures and when people laughed. It’s interesting how people spend time with their children here as opposed to America. I’m just going with personal experience here, but recreational time back home, more often than not, is spent in front of the TV. I know a few families who bring their children to park’s and such, but that’s usually before dinner, some time throughout midday. Moms typically let their children play on their own while they sit and chat with friends or read a book, and in the evening, children either watch TV, play video games, or (occasionally) go over a friend’s house.

Through my own casual observations, I find it to be a little different here. For one, parents still bring their children to the park (Plateia), albeit around 7-8pm and later. The people here seem very active in the, what we consider, late hours of the evening (anywhere from 7 to 10pm), and this includes the children playing at the park. There are social and age groups distributed throughout the Plateia, from Tweens in neon tights and striped shirts, to old men arguing over the economy. I tried asking myself why these groups are out at such a time, in such a social setting: perhaps it has to do with the siesta (nap/rest time) that they have from 2:30-5pm, making them rested for whatever may come in the hours of the evening. Perhaps it’s because Greek culture naturally has multiple social elements and strong roots in relationships, in the cohesive community atmosphere.

Whatever the case, this is vastly different from where I come from, as previously stated. Children are also brought into the adult social gatherings at a rather young age, are included in conversation and considered, if not equals, then at least contributing members.

Snapshot of a shadow puppet at a store

Charlie made us a fish dinner, with a side of mashed potatoes and broccoli. All from scratch

Some guy Mary and I spotted on the tram

We also went and saw Spiderman at an outdoor theater, at some cafe-like place. I definitely like indoor theaters better, at least for the experience. But then, in a place like this, I could talk during the movie and it wouldn’t really bother anyone. If anyone cares, I give the movie a 6.4/10 for various reasons I’ll cover in my other blog at one point.

Leave a Reply

