Mad Dash in the Traffic Pass

I kinda wanna start this post off with just a couple pictures of our dorm.

Quaint, yes? Speaking of quaint, I broke a cup yesterday in the most glorious fashion. I suppose I’ll have to buy another one, otherwise our homemade dinners will lack an adequate number of utensils. We’ve only had a few, dinners that is, in our dorm, but the ones we’ve had were absolutely kick a**. The explicative was necessary to relay the amount of awesome in those dinners, compliments of Mary, Nicki, and Charlie (my roommates). I helped too of course…with cutting tomatoes, cheese, and bread. Hey! At least I did the dishes after we ate, and cleaned up the kitchen.

 

I took these pictures with my small Canon, so the quality lacks a bit. Still, this was from a dinner Charlie made, which was some spaghetti and meatballs along with a caprese salad. Delicious is an understatement.

As is simply saying that the driving here is insane. I’m sure that those of you who have been to some part of Europe can understand what I’m talking about, at least a little. For one, there are almost no stoplights to speak of, nor are there many crosswalks. So basically you have to J-walk everywhere and have the skills (and luck) to not get hit. Some people are nice enough to slow down for you, but mostly these little cars zip up and down the streets like little electric go-carts. This, ladies and gentlemen, is the chosen irritation of today (now yesterday considering I didn’t have the resolve to finish this up last night).

If I had to take a crack at why the driving is so (for lack of a better term) crazy, then I guess I’d say it’s because of the rather narrow roads and complete lack of parking facilities near stores and other public places. However, that can only explain a part of the situation, because the drivers themselves rarely signal for turns or stops. I can’t decide whether they’re absolute pro’s, especially when in regards to the parallel parking onto sidewalks, or utterly insane…maybe it’s a mixture of the two. Or maybe their driving somewhat reflects the Greek  identity, meaning that…hm, well, I don’t know what I really mean by that. When I can formulate a response, I’ll continue this line of thought make make better of it.

Otherwise, this was a completely uneventful day.

Adio~

NO! Wait, I have to mention the juice here! The fruit in this country is tastier than nearly any food I’ve ever had before, which explains why their fruit juice is to die for. I wonder if I can somehow get a carton of it past customs…?

Leave a Reply

