The Bite and Other Spectacular Features

It may have occurred to some people that I didn’t blog yesterday (Pop). That’s because we are allowed breaks every once in a while, dear Father of my Father, and I was not really inclined to blog about an otherwise uneventful day. But I will tell you, if you must know: yesterday was Charlie’s birthday, so Mary and I got up rather early and trekked down to the bakery in order to get some pastries for breakfast.On the way back (because I really wanted an apple), we hit a small veggie/fruit stand, and despite my adamancy (is that a word? Whatever), the man there gave me the apple for free. I thought this was mighty nice of him, especially considering how ridiculous I was trying to relay what I wanted through interpretive dance.

Anyway, Charlie loved the pastries. We took the Metro again to visit a few sites for our reports, which was nice in a small group because we could stop frequently and observe our surroundings. The graffiti we saw (which, might I add, is all over Athens. All over) was particularly interesting, pretty much because some of the illustrations were a little more intricate that the ones in our neighborhood.  I can’t decide whether I think it’s beautiful/awesome, or irritating. When we first arrived in Athens, it made everything look incredibly intimidating, because I (personally) negatively associate graffiti with gang activity and hoodlums…wow, I sound like a stuffy 70 year old woman. Spectacular. Well, I did, and I thought that all the scrawl was more or less a mess along all the public buildings and whatnot.

It made me uncomfortable, seeing it along nearly every wall, around every corner. But, the longer I stay here, the more I look forward to discovering more. I’ve been told that a leading reason behind the graffiti is the unstable political status of Greece (of which we all are somewhat aware, I’m sure), in which case the graffiti stands for the anarchical frustration simmering behind the wibbly wobbly political and economic structure. In fact, quite a bit of the graffiti actually consists of political statements.

 

Oh! We ate at this lovely place called Mpongatsadiko…oh dear lord, I’m sure I translated that wrong (Mπουγατσάδιkο)…aaand I’m pretty sure I still spelled that wrong. The script on the napkin I kept is a little hard to read. Regardless, I got this spinach pie thing that was utterly delicious, and only cost approximately 1 euro. I think the correct spelling is Μπουγατσάδικο …which means I was right! YES! Moving along, it was cheap, good, and had a gorgeous interior that reminded me of a fairytale-esque eatery. It was in the Plaka, near the Metro station.

On the way back, we girls spotted an extremely attractive policeman, and as we walked by him, Charlie (being Charlie) asked if he spoke English. After he said yes, she proceeded to bluntly tell him that he was hot. And then calmly walked onwards. I think this might have been the highlight of my week.We finished off the day by eating at an Irish pub called The Silly Wizards (Link: The Silly Wizards), which has the absolute best nachos and chicken I have ever tasted in the short entirety of my life.

Today, on the other hand, was simply classes and a quick lesson in traditional Greek dance, which was fun…verily!

The Metropolitan (Cathedral) in Plaka

One thought on “The Bite and Other Spectacular Features

  1. I like your blogs. They make me feel good knowing you are having such an awesome time and have met so many new and interesting people. Adamancy is a word, it means the quality or state of being. Love yaPop

Leave a Reply

