Delphi and Turkish Delights

I would like to dedicate this post to Mary.

Mary purifying herself

So today we visited Delphi and a monastery (Osios Loukas). The mountains were beautiful, we were so high up (it kinda reminded me this panda movie I watched as a kid…The Amazing  Panda Adventure). On the way there, we stopped at a store selling lots of different pastries and other good-looking stuff, among which I spied some Turkish Delights. You have to understand, I’ve never tried a Turkish Delight, and they just look so yummy in The Chronicles of Narnia. I didn’t buy any, though, ’cause it was still breakfast time and we were about to for hiking in the hot sun: not exactly the best recipe for a good time. At Delphi we took a look at the temple of Athena and Apollo, both of which were nothing more than rubble and rocks (pretty cool rocks, but not nearly as exciting as the mountain view). We also took a stroll through the town nearby, where I bought my cousin (Tori) a souvenir I’m sure she’ll enjoy. We also ate at a nice mountain-side restaurant.

Purifying myself before the trek up

Me and Charlie sitting on some ruins

The walk around Delphi was quite laborious, albeit fun with all the great company. It was nice to cool off with some frozen drinks before we hit the museum. After we left, we ended up at the monastery. I really think it was the most beautiful out of all the places we visited, even Rhodes. The architecture and the murals were…for lack of a more accurate way to express my astonishment, breathtaking. The way the sound echoed in from the outside, the birds chirping and the wind  breezing through, was a little otherworldly.

Some of the girls had to wear skirts (provided by the monastery) if their shorts were above the knees. Inside, besides the artwork and candles, were the remains of a saint (not sure who), which was particularly interesting, more or less because of the beautiful casket that held him. I can only recall one particularly uncomfortable moment…and that would be using the bathrooms at the monastery. They were pretty much just holes in the ground, and my less-than-graceful self had a moment of derpism trying to utilize said facilities.  These kind of toilets (Turkish toilets, as it were) require squatting on a flat surface, which may seem scary to someone used to the raised commode, but it’s actually pretty hygienic because only your feet touch the toilet (or so some sources have said on other blogs). Which leads into my next point: throwing used toilet paper away rather than flushing it.

I, being used to the usual mode of American waste disposal, am highly uncomfortable with this. Getting over it, yes, but still not completely used to the dangers of traversing Greek bathrooms. I think this method is utilized because of the pipes here (maybe?), but I wonder why the plumbing isn’t just adjusted considering all the yuck garbage they still have to process.

Now that I’ve put this unnecessarily large photo just above, I’ll close this post with mention of that Turkish Delight I previously mentioned. Once we got onto the bus to go back to the dorms (Mrs.) Dr. Kaplan announced that she’d bought some, and that she was going to pass it around for everyone to try. Lemme tell you, I was so pumped. So pumped. I told my friend Mary this, and waited impatiently for it to get to us. As we were waiting, I jokingly said how funny it would be if I absolutely hated it…which I did. She thinks it’s hilarious; however, I am verily disappointed. A dream has been tarnished, forever abandoned and left in the ruins of Delphi.

A moment of silence.

Adio~

4 thoughts on “Delphi and Turkish Delights

Leave a Reply

