Yia Su, Rhodes

First thing I’d like to say: I’ve never had more fun with such a great group of people (I’d say girls, but despite the rather miniscule percentage, there is still a male population). Everyone’s been so bubbly and courteous, and I think I’ve gotten along pretty well with the groups I’ve meandered around, too.

But man, I really don’t know where to start. No wait, I know: the horrid plane ride over here (it’s all your fault, Nicki). That plane was not meant for sleeping, I don’t care what anyone says. There was not one comfortable position I could get into, and the stewardesses must have swallowed desert beetles before boarding. Honestly. Moving along, it was bad, and we really didn’t get to sleep until we left our stuff at the dorms and got onto the ferry (aka cruise). Not gonna lie, the fact that absolutely everything was in Greek when we got off the plane was a little really intimidating. It was also sorta cool though, like when you find a coke bottle in Spanish or a candy wrapper in Japanese.Just on a larger scale.

 

The coast of Athens

On the boat

Also on the boat

Near the Rhodes harbor

 

So in a synopsis of the first 24 hours, we were all tired. Once we got to Rhodes, we visited Lindos and the Acropolis there. I’m pretty sure that was the most I’ve ever sweat, save for any of the cross country meets back in High School. It was beautiful there, the water off the rocks was pretty much as blue as the Gulf (and probably bluer)…or blue Jello.

See what I mean? I was dying to dive right in, especially with it being noon and all. Once we got back to the hotel (Which was pretty nice, but had some major pitfalls. Such as no AC unless you pay 6 euros for 24 hrs of use), we went swimming at the (rocky) beach and ate at a very nice restaurant called Mezes (Link: Mezes), which I enjoyed thoroughly.

I think I’ll skip over the nitty gritty and just say that the next few days consisted of chilling, exploring the Old Town and it’s architecture, as well as dancing at a very nice restaurant, karaoke, and getting completely lost. The aforementioned ‘very nice restaurant’ was a place called Blue Lagoon (Link: Blue Lagoon), where the singing was wonderful and the ambiance was extremely festive.

At Mezes

Dancing at Blue Lagoon

We also squeezed Filerimos and the ancient city of Ialysos, Valley of the Butterflies (aka Moths), Ancient Kamiros, and the archeological museum of Rhodes all into yesterday (Tuesday). Very nice trip indeed, but now we’re back in Athens, and with that comes actual school work.

The genus Panaxia (Quadripunctaria Poda) from the Valley of the Butterflies

Mural at the archeological museum

The intimidating part was communication, and not seeming so completely inept. I didn’t know whether I was being rude in certain situations, whether through speech or mannerisms, but that was definitely a source of discomfort. Being in Rhodes, though, sort of provided a cushion to the whole speaking Greek thing, more or less because some of the menus, signs, etc. were in English. And quite a few natives could speak it fairly well, so exchanging different pleasantries went smoothly, as did absorbing Greek phrases. So basically, the intense discomfort I felt after immediately arriving in Greece (carefully hidden behind the awe and excitement) whittled away during our time on the island. It’s also helpful that I’m surrounded by people I relatively know (and am getting to know), so that I don’t really have to deal with stressful situations on my own. I hadn’t assumed much of anything before the trip here, mostly because I hadn’t really tackled the thought of language in daily life; however, simple things such as saying ‘thank you’ and ordering at a restaurant, as well as following directions, are all situations where I need to know how to read and translate the language. Which, so far, I’ve adequately covered with body language. We’ll see how this goes throughout the rest of my adventures.

The internet here leaves much to be desired, so I’ll just wait until I get home to upload more photos. Maybe I’ll just dedicate an entire post to it.

Slainte, or I guess since I’m in Greece now, Adio~

P.S. This will be edited over the next 24 hrs, so expect changes

One thought on “Yia Su, Rhodes

  1. Finally! There is life from this still blog! I nearly thought you had fallen into the ocean! Go read the message I sent you on facebook! Keep updating, fool! lskdfjslkfdsjflksjfslkfjslkfdsfjlkfdsklfsdfjslfkdsfklsdfj klssdfsds f

Leave a Reply

